Edinburgh


By SPP Reporter


Edinburgh is a famous centre of culture and sport and plays host to the biggest Arts Festival in Europe. Music, Books, Film, Theatre, Dance, Stand Up Comedy; there is something for everyone during the Edinburgh International Festival and the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. For more details, use these links:

www.eif.co.uk

www.edfringe.comwww.edinburghfestivalcity.com

For more information on Edinburgh, try the below links:

• Tourist Information: www.visitscotland.com/info/services/edinburgh-icentre-p234441

• The Official Guide to Edinburgh: www.edinburgh.org

• Trip Advisor's Top 20 Things to do in Edinburgh: www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attractions-g186525-Activities-Edinburgh_Scotland.html

If you are interested in exploring more of Scotland, the great outdoors, or Scotland's Cultural Heritage, you may wish to look at these sites:

• The National Trust for Scotland: www.nts.org.uk/Home

• Historic Environment Scotland: www.historicenvironment.scot

• Travel Scotland: www.visitscotland.com/travel

Cinemas
Cinemas in the area include:

Edinburgh
Vue Cinemas www.myvue.com

Cineworld www.cineworld.co.uk

Odeon www.odeon.co.uk

Dunfermline
Odeon 0333 014 4501

Theatres
Theatres in the area include:

Edinburgh
The Usher Hall 0131 228 1155 www.usherhall.co.uk

The Queen's Hall 0131 668 2019 www.thequeenshall.net

Festival & King's Theatre 0131 529 6000 www.edtheatres.com/kings

Traverse Theatre 0131 228 1404 www.traverse.co.uk

Royal Lyceum Box Office 0131 248 4848 www.lyceum.org.uk

Playhouse Theatre 0844 871 3014 www.atgtickets.com/venues/edinburgh-playhouse

Dunfermline
Alhambra Theatre 01383 740384 www.alhambradunfermline.com

Carnegie Hall 01383 602302 www.onfife.com/venues/carnegie-hall

Museums

Museums in the area include:
National Museum of Scotland, Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1JF. Tel: 0300 123 6789
www.nms.ac.uk/national-museum-of-scotland
Open daily 10:00-17:00hrs

Museum of Flight, East Fortune Airfield, East Lothian, EH39 5LF. Tel: 0300 123 6789
www.nms.ac.uk/national-museum-of-flight
Open daily Apr – Oct 10:00-17:00hrs

Museum of Childhood, 42 High Street, Royal Mile, Edinburgh, EH1 1TG. Tel: 0131 529 4142
www.edinburghmuseums.org.uk/Venues/Museum-of-Childhood

Places to Visit

• The Scottish Parliament www.parliament.scot

• Edinburgh Castle www.edinburghcastle.gov.uk

• Holyrood Palace www.royalcollection.org.uk/visit/palace-of-holyroodhouse

• Royal Yacht Britannia (Military discount available) www.royalyachtbritannia.co.uk

• Edinburgh Dungeon (Military discount available) www.thedungeons.com/edinburgh/en

• Edinburgh Zoo www.edinburghzoo.org.uk

• Dynamic Earth www.dynamicearth.co.uk

• Camera Obscura www.camera-obscura.co.uk

• Deep Sea World www.deepseaworld.com

• Blair Drummond Safari Park www.blairdrummond.com

For more local activities and events visit the HIVE blog at http://edinburghhive.blogspot.co.uk

Other Children's Activities

Rainbows/Brownies – register your child at www.girlguiding.org.uk

Beavers/Cubs/Scouts – www.scouts.org.uk/get-involved/map-page/#location_setlocation

Boys Brigade – The Boys Brigade is a Christian Youth Organisation for ages 5-19 years, with over half a million members worldwide. The BB offers a wide range of activities including games, crafts, Sports, Christian Teaching, Music and Holidays. www.boys-brigade.org.uk/scotland/company-finder



This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More